Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cinnamon Buttercream

This weekend was my family’s annual Christmas Party. I hadn’t baked in a while and so I decided to do a batch of Christmas Flavoured cupcakes.

I’m a little bit in love with Cinnamon and as soon as Halloween is over, it makes it’s way into every single one of my recipes, so I knew I wanted to include it somehow. I then didn’t really have any clue where to go next, so I did a bit of googling for inspiration and settled on Gingerbread Cupcakes.

I trust the BBC Food website explicitly (I have yet to have a bad experience with their recipes) and found a recipe for Gingerbread Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Icing.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/gingerbread_cupcakes_24180

I used this recipe, taking a little artistic license with the spices- I like to add a little extra!  It was the first time I’ve used warm milk in a recipe and it turned out really nicely! The only criticism was that the recipe states that it makes 15 cupcakes. 24 cupcakes, and a tray and a half of mini cupcakes later, I beg to differ.

It wasn’t a problem though, because they went down a treat and within minutes they were all gone. So I definitely recommend the recipe! Though in future, I might half the quantities!

For the Buttercream, I just made a simple buttercream and then added about a teaspoon of cinnamon and loosened up the mixture with a splash of milk.

Leave a Reply

