Vanilla Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream

I use the Hummingbird Bakery’s recipe for Vanilla Cupcakes and their recipe for Vanilla Buttercream. They create really light and fluffy cakes with a creamy buttercream which is just the right amount for 12 cupcakes.

Today, I made cakes for a first birthday party and using one of my many cake-themed presents (Planet Cake Cupcakes), I had a little play around with Fondant Icing. I added half a pea sized amount of blue food colouring paste to pre-made fondant icing, rolled it out and cut it into a large circle shape to form the blue sky. I then used a flower cutter to make the clouds and used a dark purple food paste (If you have black, use that- I just used what I had in the cupboard) and a toothpick to draw on the birds.

Happy Birthday Alex!

Until the next batch,

Emily

x

 

Leave a Reply

